Four Chinese cities picked as UNESCO Creative Cities

China Plus Published: 2017-11-01 16:33:02
Share this with Close
Messenger Messenger Pinterest LinkedIn



The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) has picked up four Chinese cities to join its Creative Cities Network (UCCN).

Created in 2004, the UCCN is covering seven creative fields, namely Crafts&Folk Art, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Literature, Music and Media Arts.

The four Chinese cities, Changsha (media arts), Macao Special Administrative Region (gastronomy), Qingdao (Film) and Wuhan (design) are among 64 cities from 44 countries and regions which join the network.

The UNESCO said that the four Chinese cities were picked for their efforts to "develop and exchange innovative best practices to promote creative industries, strengthen participation in cultural life and integrate culture into sustainable urban development policies."

The Paris-based UN body said in a statement that "Within the framework of the implementation of the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the New Urban Agenda, the Network provides a platform for cities to demonstrate culture's role as an enabler for building sustainable cities." 

[The audio clip is from Studio+, produced by CRI.]

Related stories

Share this story on


Wildlife conservation and the role of public service advertisement
A bizarre plan aiming to tackle city smog seeks for patent
3 coffees a day is linked to more health than harm


China's wildlife conservation programs see positive results
Interests from abroad shows maturity of Chinese production indusry
China focuses on rental market to solve housing issue

Expat’s Guide in China

Recruiters starting to employ social media
China opens the first AI-based TCM clinic
Baidu's self-driving vehicles to be on trial next year

City Guides

Luo Yang