U.S., Canada and Mexico to jointly host 2026 FIFA World Cup

China Plus Published: 2018-06-13 18:57:35
Share this with Close
Messenger Messenger Pinterest LinkedIn

The United States, Canada and Mexico will jointly host the 2026 FIFA World Cup. 

The hosts were announced at the 68th FIFA Congress on Wednesday, a day before the opening match of the World Cup Russia 2018.

File photo of the World Cup trophy. [Photo: IC]

File photo of the World Cup trophy. [Photo: IC]

After a public vote that took place during the FIFA meeting in Moscow, the North American joint bid has beaten the other candidate Morocco with a result of 134-65.

The U.S. hosted the World Cup once in 1994, and Mexico has hosted the games twice, in 1970 and then 1986.

A men's World Cup match has never been played on Canadian or Moroccan soil, and Morocco has lost five bid campaigns.

Related stories

Share this story on

Most Popular